Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are offered for early career academics from developing Commonwealth countries to spend between three and ten months at any approved UK university or higher education institution. Applications must include a justification for the length of award requested.

fcmb ads

The purpose of the Commonwealth Academic Fellowship is to provide early career academics with the opportunity to plan, conduct, or write research, to encourage applications from universities where capacity building is a priority, and to enhance knowledge, skills and contacts in Fellows’ given disciplines.

Applications are welcome from the many different races and origins that comprise the Commonwealth’s rich variety of cultures, traditions and institutions.

Course Level: Graduate (research, training)

Fields of study: All courses of study are eligible

Eligibility Status: To apply for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship, candidates should:

  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be employed by a university in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your fellowship in the UK on 1 October 2017. Any other start date will be permitted only in exceptional circumstances
  • Have been awarded your PhD between two and ten years prior to October 2017
  • Not have previously held a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship within five yearsAND
  • Have been awarded your PhD by a UK university while on a Commonwealth ScholarshipOR
  • Be in the employment of your nominating university

The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates.

Selection criteria:
Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • The quality of the proposal
  • The likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.

Eligible groups
Citizen and permanent residents of developing Commonwealth countries. See full list of eligible countries

Participating Institutions
Approved UK universities or higher education institutions. See full list of nominating universities/research institutes

Duration: Awards are tenable for three to ten months

Value of Scholarship Award:
Each fellowship provides:

  • Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor usually the cost of journeys made before your award is finally confirmed)
  • Research support grant, at a fixed rate according to your subject, payable to your host university
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,594 per month, or £1,977 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2016-2017 levels)
  • Grant towards the cost of preparing reports and other written work
  • Arrival allowance
  • Study travel grant towards the costs of approved travel within the UK or overseas
  • If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £448 per month for the first child, and £110 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children and solely legally responsible for them. The level of financial support provided through family allowances is under review and subject to change in both eligibility and rate.

Scholarship to be taken in: UK

How to Apply: If you have previously held a Commonwealth PhD Scholarship funded by the CSC and meet the eligibility criteria for these fellowships, you can apply directly to the CSC.

Selected universities are also invited to nominate their own academic staff. If you are employed by one of these universities, you must apply via that institution in the first instance. You must check with your nominating university for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications.

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information and to begin your application.


Application Deadline: 15 November 2016

Please Note: To See More Scholarship Opportunities Click Here

About Okegbemi Olusoji 1084 Articles
Okegbemi Olusoji Festus is an Editor/Creative writer at, A digital media Executive and a known Social Media Enthusiast.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.